The Guild Awards

The Guild of Motoring Writers’ annual awards are the longest established and most prestigious in automotive media, and recognise excellence by Guild members and non-members working in motoring editorial.

In addition there are special awards for outstanding new competitors in motorsport and to recognise the highest achievements in the automotive field, both by Guild members and by figures in the automotive and motorsport industries.

Each of the awards is judged by a panel including representatives from the Guild and from the award sponsor.

The 2023 awards will be presented at the Guild’s black-tie annual dinner at the Royal Automobile Club in Pall Mall on Thursday 7th December.

The Guild trophies are on display at the Royal Automobile Club, the National Motor Museum in Beaulieu and Coventry Transport Museum.

This section describes the current awards and recent winners. A full list of awards, including those which are dormant, together with names of all the winners, are in the Guild’s Who’s Who in the Motor Industry yearbook.

AA Campaigning for Motoring Award

This award merges the AA’s previous Campaigning Journalism and Safety awards. From road safety to electric vehicles, or roads maintenance to environmental issues, we want to see entries that build and deliver a case to improve the lives of all road users.

BCA Feature Writer of the Year

Always one of the most popular Guild awards, this award celebrates the best general feature dealing with any aspect of the motoring scene, demonstrating well-researched material that is both entertaining and informative.

Bentley Editor of the Year

This award was first presented in 2010. It goes to the editor who successfully makes the critical decisions that turn a good publication into a great one.

Footman James Classic Writer of the Year

Presented to the journalist offering the best example of an article or feature reporting on the world of classic vehicles of any age. Entries should demonstrate genuine enthusiasm for the subject and both engage and inform the reader.

Genesis Award for Automotive Technology Journalism

Recognising engineering excellence for technical audiences, this award honours features that are valued by specialists, but are still interesting and accessible to non-specialists.

GOMW MICA Young PR Professional of the Year Award sponsored by Meridian Audio

Offering the most talented young automotive PR professionals the chance to be recognised. Created through a partnership between the Guild of Motoring Writers and MICA (Motor Industry Communicators Association) and sponsored by Meridian Audio.

Iveco Industrial Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year

This award seeks fresh and interesting approaches to the world of commercial vehicles, from the latest innovations in technology, to innovative use of CVs in day-to-day business.

Sue Baker Journalist of the Year sponsored by loop

Our flagship award. This award recognises the ‘best of the best’. All category winners are eligible, with a specialist judging panel selecting the most outstanding performer.

Lexus Photographic Awards

There are two categories – General and Motorsport. Entrants supply a portfolio of six images taken on assignment. Winners are chosen for their range of photographic techniques, with judges looking for an innovative or instinctive angle.

MG Motor Young Journalist of the Year

Originally introduced in 2005 when supported by Saab, this award is made for articles that exhibit a combination of thorough research and well-crafted journalism by a Guild member aged under 30. Headlineauto backed the award between 2009 and 2014 before being taken-over by Newspress who sponsored the award from 2015 and 2023. Sponsored by MG, the award was reinstated in 2023 and is now open to both Guild and non-Guild members.

Prodrive Motorsport Cup

This award recognises outstanding achievement by a Guild member in the world of motorsport. It can be either writing about or competing in motorsport at any level.

Prova PR Business Writer of the Year

Guild members working in business media, both in print and online, can enter this award. Judges are seeking clarity of writing and well-researched articles which help readers understand the complexities of the business side of the UK auto industry.

RAC EV Journalist of the Year Award

This award seeks outstanding electric vehicle journalism which is informative, innovative and entertaining.

Suzuki Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy

A prestigious award which goes to the person judged to have made the greatest contribution to recording, in the English language, the history of motoring or motorcycling in books.

Guild nominated Awards

Young Driver of the Year
Made to the most outstanding up-and-coming young British driver of the year, as selected by a judging panel of Guild members who are all involved in motorsport reporting. Before 2009 the award was made to a driver of any nationality at any stage of their career, who Guild judges selected as the most outstanding of the year.

Young Rider of the Year

Similar to above, this award honours the most outstanding up-and-coming young British rider of the year.

Outstanding Achievement in Motorsport

A new Award for 2022, this recognises an outstanding achievement made by a British driver or rider of any age in any form of motorsport

GOMW Special Commendation sponsored by Kia

Recognises and applauds the work of individuals or organisations, not necessarily directly connected to the motor industry, who have made a special contribution to British motoring.

Pemberton Trophy

This award is presented by the Committee to a Guild member in recognition of an outstanding contribution – not necessarily journalistic – to the cause of motoring.

The President’s Trophy

Originally established by former President David, Lord Strathcarron, this award recognises outstanding achievement in the field of international automobilism. It was adopted by current President Nick Mason in 2008.


  • No more than three entries per award
  • The same entry can only be submitted once, for one award
  • All entries must have a supporting submission statement highlighting why you think your entry meets the award criteria.
  • Eligible entries must have been published between 1st Oct 2022 and 30th Sept 2023