Finalists announced for GOMW awards

The finalists in the 2020 Guild of Motoring Writers Awards have been selected, and the winners will be announced online in a webcast on 16 February at 4pm.

Finalists in 10 categories have been shortlisted with the chance of winning up to £500 and a trophy.

Entrants were able to submit work published from October 2019 (following the end of the eligibility period of the 2019 awards) to December 2020, taking into account that some would have spent part of last year with a lower volume of work because of furlough or other Covid-19 disruption. Judging took place over the Christmas and new year period.

The awards would usually have taken place at a gala dinner at the Royal Automobile Club in December, but the coronavirus pandemic made this impossible.

Instead, the 2020 awards presentation will take place online, hosted by former BBC and Channel 4 Formula One commentator Ben Edwards.

The online format will make the awards presentation more accessible than the traditional awards dinner with a limited number of tickets, and can be viewed from anywhere with an internet collection.Information on how to view the awards presentation will be circulated nearer the date of the ceremony.

Winners will be selected from the following shortlist and revealed on 16 February:

AA Campaigning for Safety Award
Jonathan Gibson
Mark Smyth
Brian Weatherley

Audi Photographic Awards – General
Nick Dimbleby
Drew Gibson
Matt Howell

Audi Photographic Awards – Motorsport
Jayson Fong
Drew Gibson
James Moy

BCA Feature Writer of the Year
David Lillywhite
Maria McCarthy
James Taylor

Bentley Editor of the Year
Tom Barnard
Mark Bursa
Simon Harris

CNH Industrial Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year
Colin Barnett
George Barrow
Brian Weatherly

Genesis Award for Automotive Technology Journalism
Andrew Charman
Alex Grant
Brian Weatherley

H&H Classics, Classic Writer of the Year
Alex Grant
Greg MacLeman
David Lillywhite

Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy
Craig Cheetham
Richard Jenkins
Martyn Morgan-Jones

Prova PR Business Writer of the Year
Mark Bursa
Martin Kahl
Mark Smyth

Other GOMW Awards (without a shortlist) to be revealed on 16 February:

Loop/The Guild of Motoring Writers Journalist of the Year
Selected from winners of the above categories

Driver of the Year

Rider of the Year

Guild of Motoring Writers Special Commendation sponsored by Kia

Pemberton Trophy

The President’s Trophy