Join us on YouTube for the GOMW Awards

Winners of the Guild of Motoring Writers Awards will be announced in a YouTube Premiere webcast on 16 February, and anyone can join to witness the presentations.

The coronavirus pandemic and its restrictions meant the Guild’s annual awards presentation and dinner at the Royal Automobile Club was unable to go ahead.

But the association has embraced the technology at its disposal to create a virtual and interactive presentation, and in doing so, making it accessible to members and other interested parties worldwide.

The event will be hosted by Ben Edwards, former commentator for BBC and Channel 4 Formula One coverage.

Guild members entered in 10 categories covering writing, editing and photography, with submissions sent to a panel for each category combining Guild representatives and sponsors. A shortlist of three finalists was selected for each category before choosing the winner who will receive a cash prize of up to £500.

The Guild will also present awards to others nominated by the committee, including Rider of the Year and Driver of the Year.

To join, you need to subscribe to the GOMW YouTube channel here, to ensure you get a reminder 30 minutes before the event is due to begin. The presentation will start at 4pm on Tuesday 16 February, and viewers will be able to chat on the page and leave comments.

Guild chairman Richard Aucock said: “The previous 12 months have been very challenging for all of us in automotive publishing, but we’re very excited to be able to present the awards in a new format this year.

“As we’re not restricted by the number of guests we can have in a room, it will be a great opportunity for more of us to be involved by interacting with the presentation as it’s broadcast.”

Finalists for awards judged by Guild representatives and sponsors:

AA Campaigning for Safety Award

Jonathan Gibson
Mark Smyth
Brian Weatherley

Audi Photographic Awards – General

Nick Dimbleby 
Drew Gibson 
Matt Howell

Audi Photographic Awards – Motorsport

Jayson Fong 
Drew Gibson
James Moy 

BCA Feature Writer of the Year

David Lillywhite
Maria McCarthy
James Taylor

Bentley Editor of the Year

Tom Barnard
Mark Bursa
Simon Harris

CNH Industrial Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year

Colin Barnett
George Barrow
Brian Weatherly

Genesis Award for Automotive Technology Journalism

Andrew Charman
Alex Grant
Brian Weatherley

H&H Classics, Classic Writer of the Year

Alex Grant
Greg MacLeman
David Lillywhite

Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy

Craig Cheetham
Richard Jenkins
Martyn Morgan-Jones

Prova PR Business Writer of the Year

Mark Bursa
Martin Kahl
Mark Smyth

Other GOMW Awards (without a shortlist) to be revealed on 16 February:

Loop/The Guild of Motoring Writers Journalist of the Year
Selected from winners of the above categories

Driver of the Year

Rider of the Year

Guild of Motoring Writers Special Commendation sponsored by Kia

Pemberton Trophy

The President’s Trophy