Guild Awards 2019 – The Winners

The best automotive media work of the year was recognised at the Guild of Motoring Writers’ Annual Awards on Thursday 5 December at the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London.

Categories covered everything from consumer journalism to motorsport, and were accompanied by awards for those making a special contribution to the Guild, to the world of motoring and in motorsport.

Click each winner’s name to see their winning entry (note some are large files and may take some time to download).

Pemberton Trophy

Winner: Simon Taylor
Presented by Guild chairman Richard Aucock

GOMW/MIPAA Young PR Professional of the Year

Winner: Camilla Scanes (Audi)
Presented by Richard Aucock and Mark Harrison
Highly Commended: Emma Gaffney (Citroën), Alex Henderson (freelance), Tom Lynch (Volkswagen)

Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy

First: Simon Taylor

Presented by Lord Montagu and Mercedes-Benz press and PR manager Andrew Dean

Second: Daniel Cabart/Gautem Sen 

Collected by John Nikas

Third: Philip Porter

AA Campaigning Journalist of the Year

Winner: Erin Baker (part 2part 3)
Presented by AA PR executive Sarah Lewis
Highly Commended: Jack Carfrae, Hugo Griffiths

Audi Photographer of the Year – General

Winner: Nick Dimbleby

Presented by Audi head of press and PR Gavin Ward
Highly Commended: Matt Howell, Drew Gibson

Audi Photographer of the Year – Motorsport

Winner: Jayson Fong
Presented by Audi head of press and PR Gavin Ward
Highly Commended: Drew Gibson, Will Broadhead

BCA Feature Writer of the Year

Winner: Dan Trent
Presented by BCA marketing director Bradley Lucas
Highly Commended: Will Dron, Jim McGill

Bentley Editor of the Year

Winner: David Lillywhite (part 2part 3)
Presented by Bentley UK communications manager Mike Sayer
Highly Commended: Mark Bursa, James Ruppert

CNH Industrial Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year

Winner: Brian Weatherley (part 2part 3)
Presented by CNH vice-president of corporate communications Richard Gadeselli
Highly Commended: Will Shiers, Martin Kahl

GKN Automotive Consumer Journalist of the Year

Winner: Jonathan Gibson
Presented by GKN Driveline director of marketing and communications Rachael Griffiths
Highly Commended: Claire Evans, John Evans

IAM RoadSmart Safety Award

Winner: Jack Carfrae (part 2part 3), collected by Simon Harris
Presented by IAM RoadSmart senior communications executive Rodney Kumar
Highly Commended: Maria McCarthy, Claire Evans

Market Engineering Award for Automotive Technology Journalism

Winner: Alex Grant (part 2part 3)
Presented by Marketing Engineering senior account manager Christian Tilbury
Highly Commended: John Evans, Martin Kahl

Newspress Young Writer of the Year

Winner: Charlie Calderwood (part 2part 3)
Presented by Newspress editorial director Tim Bowdler
Highly Commended: Rachel Boagey, Ben Custard

Peugeot Motorsport Cup

Winner: Vaishali Dinakaran (part 2part 3)
Presented by Peugeot PR manager Kerry Livsey
Highly Commended: James Taylor, Nick Trott

Prova PR Business Writer of the Year

Winner: Alex Grant (part 2part 3)
Presented by Prova PR managing director Richard Postins
Highly Commended: Nick Gibbs, Andrew Charman

RM Sotheby’s Classic Writer of the Year

Winner: Karl Ludvigsen (part 2part 3)
Presented by RM Sotheby’s classic car specialist Paul Darvill

Highly Commended: Gustavo Ruffo, James Elliott

VSCC Specialist Writer of the Year

Winner: David Lillywhite (part 2)
Presented by VSCC Bulletin editor Matthew Bell

Highly Commended: Chris Pickering, Greg MacLeman

Gallagher/The Guild of Motoring Writers Journalist of the Year

Winner: Alex Grant
Presented by Guild chairman Richard Aucock and executive director of special risks at Alesco Risk Management Services David Gray

Special Commendation 
for a Contribution to Motoring
sponsored by Kia

Winner: Catherine Bond Muir, founder of W Series
Presented by Kia director of aftersales and service Chris Lear and Guild chairman Richard Aucock

GOMW Rider of the Year

Winner: Emma Bristow, six-times World Women’s Trials Champion
Presented by Guild chairman Richard Aucock and BRDC president Paddy Hopkirk

GOMW Driver of the Year

Winner: Jamie Chadwick, W Series Champion
Presented by Guild chairman Richard Aucock

President’s Trophy

Winner: Paddy Hopkirk MBE
Presented by Guild vice-president Ray Hutton

Congratulations to all the winners! 

Pictures by Jakob Ebrey