Finalists announced for Guild Awards 2019

The finalists in the Guild of Motoring Writers’ Annual Awards have been announced in the run-up to the Guild’s 75th Anniversary dinner and awards ceremony. The winners will be revealed at the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London on Thursday 5 December 2019.

A total of 250 submissions were entered in the 15 award categories open to professional motoring journalists, photographers and authors with more than £15,000 on offer to the winners who each also take home an engraved trophy.

New to the competition for 2019 is the Specialist Writer Award sponsored by the Vintage Sports Car Club which will go to the author of the best feature on pre-war motoring.

Another new award for this year is the GOMW / MIPAA Young PR Professional of the Year title which has been created to mark 50 years of the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association and the 75th birthday of the Guild. It will be presented to the leading PR aged 30 or under who has impressed the judging panel with their efforts and contribution to the industry over the past 12 months.

Returning after a year away, the Commercial Vehicle Writer title has new sponsorship from CNH Industrial, while Bentley takes-over as the sponsor of the Editor of the Award.

In a change of procedure the Journalist of the Year Award will be selected from the individual award category winners making it a ‘best of the best’ honour – and this year the award will be sponsored by insurance, risk management and specialist financial consultants Gallagher.

Entries came from Guild members in Europe, Asia and the Americas as well as across the UK.

The winning entries will be available to view on the Guild website from Friday 06 December 2019.

Guild Awards 2019 Finalists

AA Campaigning Journalist of the Year
Erin Baker
Jack Carfrae
Hugo Griffiths

Audi Photographer of the Year – General
Nick Dimbleby
Drew Gibson
Matt Howell

Audi Photographer of the Year – Motorsport
Will Broadhead
Jayson Fong
Drew Gibson

British Car Auctions Feature Writer of the Year
Will Dron
Jim McGill
Dan Trent

Bentley Motors Editor of the Year
Mark Bursa
David Lillywhite
James Ruppert

CNH Industrial Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year
Martin Kahl
Will Shiers
Brian Weatherley

GKN Automotive Consumer Journalist of the Year
Claire Evans
John Evans
Jonathan Gibson

IAM RoadSmart Safety Award
Jack Carfrae
Claire Evans
Maria McCarthy 

Market Engineering Award for Automotive Technology Journalism
John Evans
Alex Grant
Martin Kahl

Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy
Daniel Cabart & Gautam Sen – The history of Ballot
Philip Porter – Gordon Murray – One Formula 50 Years of Design
Simon Taylor – John, George and the HWMS

Newspress Young Writer of the Year
Rachel Boagey
Charlie Calderwood
Ben Custard

Peugeot Motorsport Cup
Vaishali Dinakaran
James Taylor
Nick Trott 

Prova PR Business Writer of the Year
Andrew Charman
Nick Gibbs
Alex Grant

RM Sothebys Classic Writer of the Year
James Elliott
Karl Ludvigsen
Gustavo Ruffo

VSCC Specialist Writer of the Year
David Lillywhite
Greg MacLeman
Chris Pickering

GOMW and MIPAA Young PR Professional of the Year
Emma Gaffney
Alex Henderson
Tom Lynch
Camilla Scanes

Also to be announced by the Guild at the dinner will be the following awards:

Guild of Motoring Writers’ Journalist of the Year sponsored by Gallagher
Guild Driver of the Year
Guild Rider of the Year
President’s Trophy
Special Contribution Award sponsored by Kia
Pemberton Trophy