Guild members dominate 2016 Newspress Awards

Guild members won seven of the 11 individual media categories to dominate the inaugural Newspress Awards, presented at a black-tie dinner at The Brewery in London on 17 March.

Jim Holder led the way, winning the Automotive Editor title for his work on Autocar and What Car?. Ben Oliver won the award for best Automotive Business Journalist, David Lillywhite for Automotive Feature Writer and David Simister for Automotive News Writer.

James Ruppert won the Classic Car Writer award and John Henderson took the award for best Commercial Vehicle Writer. The Automotive Photographer award went to a new Guild member, Autocar staff photographer Luc Lacey.

The Guild extends its congratulations to all the Newspress Award winners, which also included best Automotive Website for Guild member Peter Lorimer’s Honest John site, and Friends of the Guild Janet Wilkinson, who won a Special Newspress Award marking her long service in communications at the SMMT, and Paul Buckett, who was honoured with a Lifetime Achievement award. Suzuki was also honoured with the Automotive Press Office of the Year award – just months after topping the rankings in the annual Guild Survey of press offices.