GOMW Awards – we reveal the winners

Guild members shared the spotlight with Sir Lewis Hamilton as the 2020 awards were presented online on Tuesday (16 February).

Broadcaster Ben Edwards hosted the event with Guild member winners chosen for 11 sponsored prizes and trophies by judges and sponsors, while five other winners were selected by the GOMW committee.

Winners in the judged categories are as follows:

The AA Campaigning for Safety Award
Mark Smyth 

Audi Photographic Award (General)
Nick Dimbleby

Audi Photographic Award (Motorsport)
Drew Gibson

BCA Feature Writer of the Year
David Lillywhite

Bentley Editor of the Year
Mark Bursa

CNH Industrial Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year
George Barrow

Genesis Award for Automotive Technology Journalism
Andrew Charman

H&H Classics Writer of the Year
Greg MacLeman

Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy
Richard Jenkins

Prova PR Business Writer of the Year
Mark Bursa

Loop/The Guild of Motoring Writers Journalist of the Year
Mark Bursa

Winners of awards nominated by the GOMW committee:

Guild of Motoring Writers Special Commendation sponsored by Kia
The Rev Adam Gompertz

Driver of the Year
Phil Hanson

Rider of the Year
Rory Skinner

The Pemberton Trophy
Patricia Lodge

The President’s Trophy
Sir Lewis Hamilton

The awards webcast, which includes interviews with winners of the nominated awards, as well as the thoughts of Guild president Nick Mason on Sir Lewis Hamilton’s achievement, can be viewed here.