Guild Awards 2018: The Finalists

A month of deliberations has gone into the selection of the finalists for this year’s Guild of Motoring Writers’ Annual Awards which carry prize money in excess of £13,000 – and the much anticipated short-list is revealed today.

The winners will be announced and presented with their awards at the Guild’s Annual Dinner on Thursday 29 November 2018 at the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London.

Master of Ceremonies for the Awards will be Channel 4 Formula One commentator and Guild member Ben Edwards.

A total of 250 submissions were entered in the 14 award categories open to professional motoring writers, authors, broadcasters and photographers. In addition there was a bumper international entry for the two annual awards presented to aspiring motoring journalists.

Entries came from Guild members living world-wide with submissions from journalists in the USA, India, South Africa, Portugal, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands and across the UK.

The ever popular Feature Writer of the Year category, sponsored by British Car Auctions, alone attracted 40 entries (which kept the judges busy) while the Mercedes-Benz Montagu Trophy for the Best Motoring Book received 23 nominated publications – the highest entry for many years.

Judging panels have whittled the entries down to three finalists in each category – the two runners-up in each category will receive Highly Commended certificates.

The winners of the Guild Driver of the Year and Rider of the Year along with the President’s Trophy and the Kia backed Special Commendation will also be announced at the dinner.

The winning entries will be available to view on the Guild website from Friday 30 December.

Guild Awards 2018 – The Finalists

(in alphabetical order)

AA Campaigning Journalist of the Year
Louise Cole
Alex Grant
Maria McCarthy

British Car Auctions Feature Writer of the Year
Rachel Boagey
James Taylor
Richard Webber

GOMW Photographer of the Year – General
Drew Gibson
Matt Howell
Olgun Kordal

GOMW Photographer of the Year – Motorsport
Jakob Ebrey
Kel Edge
Jayson Fong

GKN Driveline Consumer Journalist of the Year
Claire Evans
Christofer Lloyd
Maria McCarthy

IAM RoadSmart Safety Award
Louise Cole
Gustavo Ruffo
David Williams

Market Engineering Award for Automotive Technology Journalism
John Evans
Nick Hull
Jorn Madslien

Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy
Karl Ludvigsen
Graham Rabagliati
Jonathan Wood

Newspress Young Writer of the Year
Alex Kalinauckas
Jack Phillips
Sophie Williamson-Stothert

Peter James Insurance Editor of the Year
Laurie Caddell
Ben Klemenzson
Chris Rees

Peugeot Motorsport Cup
Vaishali Dinakaran
James Taylor
Dan Trent

Prova PR Business Writer of the Year
Lem Bingley
Nick Gibbs
Martin Kahl

Renault UK / The Guild of Motoring Writers Journalist of the Year
Erin Baker
John Evans
Christofer Lloyd

RM Sothebys Classic Writer of the Year
Sam Dawson
Greg MacLeman
Mick Walsh

Also to be announced by the Guild at the dinner will be the following awards:
Guild Driver of the Year
Guild Rider of the Year
President’s Trophy
Kia Special Commendation
Phil Llewellin Student Journalist of the Year sponsored by CAR
Pemberton Trophy
Sir William Lyons Award sponsored by Jaguar