2015 AGM votes for the future

Guild members attending the 2015 Annual General Meeting played a key role in shaping the Guild’s future and were later treated to an exclusive private tour of London’s Science Museum. 

The AGM, chaired by vice-president John Blauth and attended by more than 40 members, voted to establish a new stand-alone trust which would safeguard the Guild’s trophies, paintings, memorabilia and other artefacts. Some of these, such as the Graham Hill and Jackie Stewart helmets, now have considerable and growing value. Honorary secretary Chris Adamson explained to the meeting that the establishment of the trust would preserve our 70 years of heritage even if a legal or financial disaster threatened the Guild.

The meeting also confirmed the Guild committee’s nominations for officers in 2015, with Guy Loveridge continuing as chairman, Matthew Carter as honorary treasurer and Chris Adamson as honorary secretary, while Andrew Noakes takes over from Richard Aucock as deputy chairman.

Two changes to the committee were confirmed by the AGM, with Sophie Williamson-Stothert joining and John Kendall standing down. The meeting thanked John for his many years of service on the committee, which included a spell as chairman in 2006-7.

Following the AGM, Citroën’s Bekir Hassan gave a short presentation on the brand’s heritage and revealed new details of PSA’s DS premium brand.

Members were then given an after-hours private viewing of some of the engineering exhibits at the museum, and a tour of the new Information Age gallery

A full report on the AGM will follow in the next issue of Update.