Guild Awards worth £23,000+

For 2014, there are two new awards for bus/truck and CV writers, to reflect and encourage these important sectors. The TMD Friction Ltd Textar Mintex Don Light Commercial Vehicle Writer Award has a £500 prize fund, and the Cummins Bus and Truck Writer of the Year Award offers £750.

The Cummins Award is, in common with several Guild Awards, open to members and non-members alike. The Guild has done this to encourage and advance motoring journalism in key categories; most awards, however, remain restricted to the Guild’s 500-plus membership only.

Two highly popular awards have been refocused for 2014. The AA Award moves from honouring environmental journalism to recognising the best in campaigning journalism, a category judges expect to be hotly fought.

The Newspress New Media Award becomes the Newspress Best Use of Social Media Award for 2014. Newspress and The Guild is keen to reward the best, most creative use of social media tools and believe high standards will be set in this new category.

Nominations are also being sought for The GoMW Special Commendation Award sponsored by KIA.

“We have once again evolved our industry ‘Oscars’ to reflect how today’s motoring writers operate, ensuring there are categories and opportunities for recognition open to everyone,” Guild chairman Guy Loveridge says.

“There are more than 20 Awards and more than £23,000 in prize money – I urge all Guild members and motoring writers to spend the next few weeks gathering their best work and preparing what could be one of the most profitable emails they send all year.”

Material published between 1 October 2013 and 30 September 2014 is eligible; the strict closing date is 23:59h, Tuesday September 30 2014. Awards will be presented at The Guild Annual Dinner and Awards event, to be held on Thursday 4 December 2014 at the RAC Pall Mall.

Entry forms can be downloaded from this website. Alternatively, you can email the Guild’s honorary secretary, Chris Adamson, at