Guild Awards 2013 – The Winners

The much-anticipated event at the exclusive venue saw Guild members welcome sponsors, leading members of the automotive public relations industry, motorsport stars, up-and-coming writers and even royalty, to mark the presentation of awards to writers, editors, broadcasters, bloggers and photographers for their work undertaken in 2013. Among those who were on hand to congratulate the winners were His Royal Highness Prince Michael of Kent, The Hon Ralph Montagu, BTCC’s Andrew Jordan, Jaguar Design Director Ian Callum, Michael Quinn – grandson of Sir William Lyons – and Tom Hunt, son of legendary racer James Hunt.

For 2013 there were more prizes than ever, representing a wider diversity of activities undertaken by motoring journalists today. New for this year was the Skoda Video Award, while the Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy was restructured. Winners received cash and trophies – and Commended citations were made in many categories. Prize money totalled more than £20,000.

The Guild also presented its prestigious Driver and Rider of the Year awards, chosen by its own motorsport experts. These went to British Touring Car Champion Andrew Jordan and World Speedway Champion Tai Woffinden respectively. Jaguar Design Director Ian Callum received the President’s Trophy from GoMW President Nick Mason, while His Royal Highness Prince Michael of Kent was awarded The Guild of Motoring Writers’ brand new Special Award for Contribution to Motoring supported by Kia Motors UK.

The evening’s most coveted prize, the flagship Renault UK/GoMW Journalist of the Year award, is bestowed on those judged to have made the most outstanding journalistic effort in any medium during the past 12 months. For the second year running, a chance at the title was opened up to anyone in the industry, not only Guild members. Read on to see who won this and all the other GoMW accolades…

The full list of 2013 Guild of Motoring Writers award winners:

AA Environment

Winner: Ben Oliver | Commended: Paul Barker

Audi Photography

Winner (General): Matt Howell | Commended: Martyn Goddard | Winner (Motorsport): James Moy | Commended: Alisdair Cusick, Jakob Ebrey

Automotive PR Consumer Journalist of the Year

WInner: David Williams | Commended: James Ruppert

Bentley Motors International

Winner: Alex Cox | Commended: Ben Oliver

BCA Feature Writer of the Year

Winner: Maggie Barry | Commended: George Barrow

Cummins Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year

Winner: James Scoltock | Commended: Richard Simpson

Headlineauto Young Writer of the Year

Winner: Lewis Kingston | Commended: Greg MacLeman, Danny Hewitt

IAM Safety Award in memory of Christopher Bullock MBE

Winner: Bruce Grant-Braham | Commended: Chris Knapman, David Williams

Phil Llewellin Student of the Year Sponsored by CAR

Winner: Max Prince

Sir William Lyons Award Sponsored by Jaguar

Winner: Ciaran O’Donnell
Anderson Market Engineering Automotive Technology

Winner: Brian Weatherley

Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy

1st – Ray Hutton | 2nd – Roy Smith | 3rd – Peter Higham

Newspress New Media

Winner: Chris Knapman

Peugeot Motorsport Cup

Winner: Alistair Weaver | Commended: Jim McGill

PFPR Editor of the Year

Winner: Dan Trent | Commended: Danny Hopkins

President’s Trophy

Winner: Ian Callum

Prova PR Business Writer

Winner: Mark Bursa | Commended: John Maslen

Renault UK/GoMW Journalist of the Year

1st – Hilton Holloway | 2nd – Ben Oliver | 3rd – Jim Holder

RM Auctions Classic Writer of the Year

Winner: Tony Dron | Commended: David Burgess-Wise, Dave Richards

Skoda Design Award

Wnner: Hilton Holloway

SEAT Breakthrough Blogger of the Year

WInner: Chris Auty

Skoda Video Award

Winner: Alex Goy | Commended: Ian Dickson

GoMW Special Award for Contribution to Motoring supported by Kia Motors UK

HRH Prince Michael of Kent

Congratulations to all those named above, and the Guild is particularly grateful to all existing and new sponsors for their support in 2013.