Open to: Guild members only


£1000 plus trophy

Recognising engineering excellence for technical audiences, the judges are looking for an ability to write features that are valued by specialists in the subject yet which are also interesting and easily accessible to non-specialists.

Sponsored by Market Engineering since 2007.


Market Engineering    Christian Tilbury    Alex Grant

2019 Alex Grant (Highly commended: John Evans, Martin Kahl)

2018 Nick Hull (Highly commended: John Evans, Jorn Madslien)

2017 Lem Bingley (Highly commended: Graham Heeps, Chris Pickering)

2016 Martin Kahl collected by Ian Henry (Highly commended: William Kimberley, Graham Heeps)

2015 James Scoltock (Highly commended: Rob Marshall)

2014 William Kimberley

2013 Brian Weatherley

2012 Graham Heeps (Highly commended: Tony Lewin, Paul Horrell)

2011 Chris Pickering

2010 Ian Adcock (Highly commended: Chris Pickering)

2009 Tristan Honeywell

2008 Karl Ludvigsen (Highly commended: Charles Armstrong-Wilson)

2007 James Griffiths

We use your search, location and browsing data and set cookies to analyse traffic, recognise logged-in users and personalise ads. Click OK to give your consent to this. If you don't, some parts of the website may not work as intended.