035GMWWinnersGroupJSB 5234

Award-winning motoring journalists, photographers, broadcasters and automotive authors from the UK and Europe attended the presentation of the Guild of Motoring Writers’ Annual Awards on Thursday 29 November at the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London.

A record-breaking 284 submissions (the most ever received in the 74 year history of the Guild) were entered in the categories open to professional motoring writers, authors, broadcasters and photographers plus categories for aspiring young journalists and those making a special contribution to motoring and motorsport.

Click each winner's name to see their winning entry (note some are large files and may take some time to download).

AA Campaigning Journalist of the Year

011GMWAAAlexGrantIanCrowderJSB 5068

Winner: Alex Grant
Presented by AA head of PR Ian Crowder
Highly Commended:  Louise Cole/Maria McCarthy

British Car Auctions Feature Writer of the Year

012GMWBCARichardWebberTimNaylorJSB 5073

Winner: Richard Webber
Presented by BCA public relations manager Tim Naylor
Highly Commended: Rachel Boagey/James Taylor

GKN Driveline Consumer Journalist of the Year

013GMWGKNClaireEvansRachaelGriffithsJSB 5078

Winner: Claire Evans (part 2)
Presented by GKN Driveline director of marketing and communications Rachael Griffiths
Highly Commended: Christofer Lloyd/Maria McCarthy

GOMW Driver of the Year

031GMWDriverBillyMongerPaddyHopkirkRichardAucockJSB 5185

Winner: Billy Monger
Presented by Guild chairman Richard Aucock and BRDC president Paddy Hopkirk

GOMW Photographer of the Year – General

014GMWGeneralPhotoDrewGibsonAndrewNoakesJSB 5084

Winner: Drew Gibson
Presented by GOMW deputy chairman Andrew Noakes
Highly Commended: Matt Howell/Olgun Kordal

GOMW Photographer of the Year – Motorsport

015GMWMotorsportPhotoJakobEbreyAndrewNoakesJSB 5089

Winner: Jakob Ebrey
Presented by GOMW deputy chairman Andrew Noakes
Highly Commended: Kel Edge/Jayson Fong

GOMW Rider of the Year

029GMWRiderJakeDixonPaddyHopkirkRichardAucockJSB 5152

Winner: Jake Dixon
Presented by Guild chairman Richard Aucock and BRDC president Paddy Hopkirk

IAM RoadSmart Safety Award

016GMWIAMDavidWilliamsRodneyKumarJSB 5091

Winner: David Williams (part 2)
Presented by IAM RoadSmart senior communications executive Rodney Kumar
Highly Commended: Louise Cole/Gustavo Ruffo

Market Engineering Award for Automotive Technology Journalism

017GMWMarketEngineeringNickHullRichardGotchJSB 5097

Winner: Nick Hull
Presented by Marketing Engineering managing director Richard Gotch
Highly Commended: John Evans/Jorn Madslien

Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy

024GMWMontagu1stKarlLudvigsenDebbieHullJaneRiddifordJSB 5125

First: Karl Ludvigsen for his book on Reid Railton
Presented by Mercedes-Benz communications director Debbie Hull and National Motor Museum public relations manager Jane Riddiford

Second: Jonathan Wood

023GMWMontagu3rdGrahamRabagliatiDebbieHullJaneRiddifordJSB 5124

Third: Graham Rabagliati

Newspress Young Writer of the Year

018GMWNewspressJackPhillipsChrisAdamsonJSB 5102

Winner: Jack Phillips (part 2, part 3)
Presented by GOMW honorary secretary Chris Adamson
Highly Commended: Alex Kalinauckas/Sophie Williamson-Stothert

Pemberton Trophy

006GMWPembertonGilesChapmanRichardAucockJSB 5033

Winner: Giles Chapman
Presented by Guild chairman Richard Aucock

Peter James Insurance Editor of the Year

019GMWPeterJamesInsuranceCliveHarringtonMartynRaybouldJSB 5104

Winner: Laurie Caddell (collected on his behalf by Clive Harrington)
Presented by Martin Raybould, head of business relationships, Shield Total Insurance
Highly Commended: Ben Klemenszon/Chris Rees

Peugeot Motorsport Cup

020GMWPeugeotVaishaliDinakaranMasonFinneyJSB 5107

Winner: Vaishali Dinakaran (part 2, part 3)
Presented by Peugeot media relations executive Mason Finney
Highly Commended: James Taylor/Dan Trent

Phil Llewellin Student Journalist of the Year
sponsored by CAR

009GMWLLewellinEmilyMacbethPhilMcNamaraBethLewellinJSB 5062

Winner: Emily Macbeth
Presented by Beth Llewellin and CAR Magazine's Phil McNamara
Highly Commended: Guy Hirst/Jake Horton

President’s Trophy

033GMWPresidentsDrAndyPalmerRichardAucockJSB 5200

Winner: Dr Andy Palmer, Aston Martin
Presented by Guild chairman Richard Aucock

Prova PR Business Writer of the Year

021GMWProvaNickGibbsRichardPostinsJSB 5114

Winner: Nick Gibbs (part 2, part 3)
Presented by Prova PR managing director Richard Postins
Highly Commended: Lem Bingley/Martin Kahl

Renault UK / The Guild of Motoring Writers’ Journalist of the Year

027GMWRenault1stJohnEvansMatthewBendallRichardAucockJSB 5141

First: John Evans (part 2, part 3)
Presented by Guild chairman Richard Aucock and Renault UK communications director Matthew Bendall

026GMWRenault2ndErinBakerMatthewBendallRichardAucockJSB 5135

Second: Erin Baker

025GMWRenault3rdChristoherLloydMatthewBendallRichardAucockJSB 5130

Third: Christofer Lloyd

RM Sotheby’s Classic Writer of the Year

022GMWRMSothebysMickWalshGregAndersonJSB 5117

Winner: Mick Walsh (part 2)
Presented by RM Sotheby's Europe COO Greg Anderson

Highly Commended: Sam Dawson/Greg Macleman

Sir William Lyons Award sponsored by Jaguar

010GMWLyonsLukeChillingsworthMichaelQuinnAdamCallandJSB 5066

Winner: Luke Chillingsworth
Presented by Michael Quinn and Jaguar's Adam Calland
Highly Commended: Nathan Hine/Alex Whitworth

Special Commendation for a Contribution to Motoring
sponsored by Kia

028GMWKIaMatthewAverySimonHetheringtonRichardAucockJSB 5147

Winner: Thatcham Research, collected by head of research Matthew Avery
Presented by Kia commercial director Simon Hetherington and Guild chairman Richard Aucock

Congratulations to all the winners! 

Pictures by Jeff Bloxham

We use your search, location and browsing data and set cookies to analyse traffic, recognise logged-in users and personalise ads. Click OK to give your consent to this. If you don't, some parts of the website may not work as intended.