The much-anticipated event at the exclusive venue saw Guild members welcome sponsors, leading members of the automotive public relations industry, motorsport stars plus up-and-coming writers, to mark the presentation of awards to writers, editors, broadcasters, bloggers and photographers for their work.

Among those who were on hand to congratulate the winners were rally legend Paddy Hopkirk, Intercontinental Rally Challenge champion Andreas Mikkelsen, chairman of Magma Group Dr Martin Leach, BRDC secretary Stuart Pringle and Michael Quinn, grandson of Jaguar founder Sir William Lyons.

For 2012 there were more prizes than ever, representing a wider diversity of activities undertaken by motoring journalists today. Winners received cash and trophies – and Commended citations were made in many categories. Prize money totalled more than £23,000.

The Guild also presented its prestigious Driver and Rider of the Year awards, chosen by the Guild's own motorsport experts. These went to British Formula Three champion Jack Harvey and World Superbikes star Tom Sykes respectively. Motorsport engineering legend Patrick Head received the President’s Trophy from Nick Mason.

The evening’s most coveted prize, the Renault UK/GoMW Journalist of the Year award, is bestowed on the writers judged to have made the most outstanding journalistic effort in any medium during the past 12 months. Traditionally this been restricted to just Guild members – but this year it was decided to open up a chance at the title to anyone in the industry and to create three awards. Read on to see who won these, and the other GoMW accolades…

The full list of 2012 Guild of Motoring Writers award winners (click each picture for the full-size version):

Award title




AA Environment 2012-awards-05AADavidWilliamsSurBeestonSC 7989 David Williams  
Audi Photographic - General 2012-awards-06AudiAlistairCuisickJonathanZammettDSC 7992 Alisdair Cusick  
Audi Photographic - Motorsport 2012-awards-07AudiJakobEbryJonathanZammettDSC 7994 Jakob Ebrey  
Bentley Motors International 2012-awards-09BentleyAlistairWeaverRichardDurbinDSC 8001 Alistair Weaver  
BCA Feature Writer of the Year 2012-awards-10BCAJackCarfraeTimNaylorDSC 8003 Jack Carfrae Martyn Goddard
Cummins Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year 2012-awards-11CumminsTimBlakemoreStevenNendickDSC 8004 Tim Blakemore Brian Weatherley
Headlineauto Young Writer of the Year 2012-awards-12HeadlineAutoJamieFretwellMartinLeachDSC 8007 Jamie Fretwell  
IAM Safety Award in memory of Christopher Bullock MBE 2012-awards-13IAMSafetyDavidWilliansTanvirNandraAliceGranvilleDSC 8010 David Williams  
Phil Llewellin Student of the Year Sponsored by CAR 2012-awards-14PhilLlewellinJoannaPriceBethLlewellinBenPulmanDSC 8012 Joanna Price  
Sir William Lyons Award Sponsored by Jaguar 2012-awards-16SieWilliamLyonsAndrewBradyFionaPargeterDSC 8015 Andrew Brady 2012-awards-15SirWilliamLyonsSophieWilliamStothertFionaPargeterDSC 8013Sophie Williamson-Stothert
Market Engineering Automotive Technology 2012-awards-17MarketEngineeringGrahamHeepsRichardGotchDSC 8017 Graham Heeps

Tony Lewin

Paul Horrell

Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy 2012-awards-04MercedesIanWagstaffAngudFittonDougHillDSC 7987 Ian Wagstaff Jonathan Wood
Mitsubishi Motors Award for Innovation in Regional Motoring Journalism 2012-awards-18MitsubishiDavidDuffyAndyWertheimDSC 8019 David Duffy  
Newspress New Media 2012-awards-19NewspressDanienSmithRossPinnockDSC 8023 Ed Foster (accepted on his behalf by Damien Smith)  
Peugeot Motorsport Cup 2012-awards-20PeugeotEdMcDonoughAndrewDidlickDSC 8026 Ed McDonough Chris Pickering
PFPR Editor of the Year 2012-awards-21PFPRDavidLilleywhitePeterCoxDSC 8029 David Lillywhite  
President’s Trophy 2012-awards-32PresidentPatrickHeadNickMasonDSC 8061 Patrick Head  
Prova PR Business Writer 2012-awards-22ProvaPRJackCarfraeRichardPostinsDSC 8031 Jack Carfrae

James Baggott

Jorn Madslien

Renault UK/GoMW Journalist of the Year

2012-awards-29RenaultKenGibsonJeremyTownsendDSC 8050

2012-awards-28RenaultBenOliverJeremyTownsendDSC 8047

2012-awards-27RenaultDavidWilliamsJeremyTownsendDSC 8044

1st Ken Gibson

2nd Ben Oliver

3rd David Williams

RM Auctions Classic Writer of the Year

2012-awards-23RMAuctionsDavidLilleywhitePeterWallmanDSC 8035

David Lillywhite

James Ruppert
Skoda Design Award

2012-awards-26SkodaJamesScoltockCathieSleighDSC 8042

James Scoltock

SEAT Breakthrough Blogger of the Year

2012-awards-25SEATKeithJonesJulietCarringtonDSC 8040

Keith Jones

2012-awards-24SEATGavinBraithwaiteSmithJulietCarringtonDSC 8037Gavin Braithwaite-Smith

Congratulations to all those named above, and the Guild is particularly grateful to all existing and new sponsors for their support in 2012.

Other pictures from the Awards dinner

2012-awards-02RichardAucockDSC 7978Guild chairman Richard Aucock makes his opening speech 


2012-awards-34WinnersDSC 8066All the 2012 Guild of Motoring Writers Awards winners

We use your search, location and browsing data and set cookies to analyse traffic, recognise logged-in users and personalise ads. Click OK to give your consent to this. If you don't, some parts of the website may not work as intended.