17 awards web

A total of 39 media professionals are in the running for the 2017 Guild Awards, which will be presented at the  Annual Dinner on Thursday 30 November at the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London.

Overall entries for the 2017 awards have broken Guild records, with 270 submissions across the 15 awards categories open to professional motoring writers, authors, broadcasters and photographers.

One award alone, the ever-popular Feature Writer of the Year sponsored by British Car Auctions, attracted a highest-ever 45 entries. This makes it the most hotly-contested award in the Guild’s history.

Entries came from GOMW members worldwide, with submissions from journalists in Brazil, Canada, Scandinavia, America, Colombia, France, Italy, as well as across the UK.

The winners from each of the shortlisted three contenders will be announced at the Annual Dinner, where they’ll be presented with their awards and cash prizes (the total fund is worth over £15,000). The two runners-up in each category will receive Highly Commended certificates.

The winning entries will be available to view on the Guild website from Friday 1 December.


AA Campaigning Journalist of the Year

Jack Carfrae
Ray Massey
Maria McCarthy

Audi Photographer of the Year – General

Nick Dimbleby
Luc Lacey
James Lipman

Audi Photographer of the Year – Motorsport

Jeff Bloxham
Jakob Ebrey
John Mountney

British Car Auctions Feature Writer of the Year

Jack Carfrae
Dale Drinnon
James Taylor

DS Automobiles Editor of the Year

Paul Barker
Maggie Barry
Hilton Holloway

GKN Driveline Consumer Journalist of the Year

George Barrow
John Evans
Ray Massey

IAM RoadSmart Safety Award

Chris Knapman
Gustavo Ruffo
Dan Trent

Market Engineering Award for Automotive Technology Journalism

Lem Bingley
Graham Heeps
Chris Pickering

Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy

Anders Ditlev Clausager
Tony Lewin
John Nikas

Newspress Young Writer of the Year

Jack Benyon
Jack Phillips
Sophie Williamson-Stothert

Peugeot Motorsport Cup

Andrew Charman
James Taylor
Nick Trott

Prova PR Business Writer of the Year

Simon Duval-Smith
David Leggett
Ray Massey

Renault UK / The Guild of Motoring Writers Journalist of the Year

Paul Barker
Ray Massey
James Ruppert

RM Sothebys Classic Writer of the Year

David Burgess-Wise
Sam Dawson
Malcolm Thorne

TMD Friction Ltd The Textar Mintex Don Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year Award

Louise Cole
James Gordon
Brian Weatherley

Also to be announced by the Guild of Motoring Writers on the night:

Guild Driver of the Year
Guild Rider of the Year
President’s Trophy
Special Contribution Award sponsored by Kia
Phil Llewellin Student Journalist of the Year sponsored by CAR
Pemberton Trophy
Sir William Lyons Award sponsored by Jaguar
Motoring Research Breakthrough Award

The Guild of Motoring Writers’ Annual Dinner and Awards 2017 is on Thursday 30 November at the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London. Tickets, priced at £90, are still available for the black-tie event (which is for automotive journalists and PRs), and include a festive three-course meal. Details are available from General Secretary Patricia Lodge – email: .

We use your search, location and browsing data and set cookies to analyse traffic, recognise logged-in users and personalise ads. Click OK to give your consent to this. If you don't, some parts of the website may not work as intended.