awards web2017

The 2017 Guild of Motoring Writers Awards are now open – with more than £14,000 in prize money to be won.

There are 15 award categories for Guild covering all aspects of motoring journalism from writing and broadcasting to photography, and there are also awards for editors and motoring historians.

Specialist automotive categories include: business writers, those specialising in automotive technology, motorsport reporters and participants, classic vehicle specialists, feature writers, consumer journalists, commercial vehicle writers, young journalists, motorsport and general photographers and those recording the history of motoring in books.

A short-list of three finalists will be selected in each category and announced prior to the presentation evening – all three finalists will be provided with a complimentary ticket (worth £90) to the Guild’s Annual Dinner and Awards event, which takes place on Thursday 30 November at the RAC, Pall Mall, London.

The winner in each category will receive a cheque and a crystal glass trophy to take home. The runners-up will each receive Highly Commended certificates.

For full details, rules and the entry form go to the 2017 Awards section.

If you have any questions about the entry procedure contact honorary secretary, Chris Adamson email:



AA Campaigning Journalist of the Year (prize £1,000)

Audi Photographer of the Year – General (£600)

Audi Photographer of the Year – Motorsport (£600)

BCA Feature Writer of the Year (£1,000)

DS Automobiles Editor of the Year (£1,000)

GKN Driveline Consumer Journalist of the Year (£1,000)

IAM RoadSmart Award (£500)

Market Engineering Automotive Technology Award (£500)

Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy (£1,100 / £250 / £150)

Newspress Young Writer of the Year (£1,000)

Peugeot Motorsport Cup (£1,000)

Prova PR Business Writer of the Year (£1,000)

Renault UK Journalist of the Year (£1,100 / £250 / £150)

RM Sothebys Classic Writer of the Year (£1,000)

TMD Friction Ltd The Textar Mintex Don Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year Award (£1,000)

We use your search, location and browsing data and set cookies to analyse traffic, recognise logged-in users and personalise ads. Click OK to give your consent to this. If you don't, some parts of the website may not work as intended.